A Gift from Daniel

bobby posting:

One of my best friends in the world, who just so happens to also write for this blog, recently returned from Afghanistan. Soon thereafter he must have dropped by the old post office and sent me and my wife a wonderful letter and some gifts. You can see me reading the letter here in this photo, but perhaps more importantly, you can see me wearing one of the gifts! I have no idea if I have this thing on correctly. Frankly, I’m not sure that this thing isn’t a bag that I’ve disrespectfully put on my head.

Anyway, Dan just visited a part of the world that we only see in its fragmented and torn bits and pieces on the nightly news. But if you read this letter or listened to his story, you’d realize that the little gifts he brought back for his friends were nothing compared to the gifts of hospitality and warmth that he received from the people of Afghanistan during his time there. It definitely puts a new spin on a place that we’ve all made our own assumptions about. Thank you, Dan, for the hat (it is a hat, right?) and the rest of the gifts you sent.

But even more, thank you for the gift of shattering my stereotypes. I could certainly use a reality check every now and then, and I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

