Self Reflection

I have always been an advocate for the expression “be carefull what you wish for.” A couple months ago I wrote a comment about work being bleak, boring, unsatisfying and heck, we don’t even have windows!! I had wished for a change that would challenge me, capture my attention and give me an opportunity to voice ideas in my organization.

Two weeks ago I walked into work expecting an ordinarily bland day. My boss stopped me on the way to my desk and asked: “how do you feel about traveling to Seattle?” “My families in Seattle so I am always up for a trip,” I said. “I thought you might say that. Headquarters wants you to run a new 75-day campaign. When can you leave?”

36 hours later I was on a plane to Seattle for a two-month campaign. I guess that is the benefit of being in your twenties without any real ties or responsibilities. At the same time, it was a little weird making such a life changing decision in less than five minutes. I have only recently had a chance to list out some pros and cons.

Pros: 1) A huge opportunity to get a new job offer in the midst of an economic crisis. 2) Shuts off my social life and forces me to focus on work and Law School applications 3) I get all of my gas and meals paid for 4) No longer need plan tickets home for Thanksgiving & Christmas 5) Being separated from the opposite sex somehow removes 90% of all distractions 6) I got to see both my sister and her boyfriend 7) My parents recently remodeled their house. It feels as if I am working out of a resort. 8) I got to spend time with my Goddaughter who is now the love of my life- sorry ladies.

Cons: 1) I am working like a dog- 50/60hrs @ work, 8hrs of commuting, 30hrs of LSAT work. Dang those are almost investment banker hours. 2) It is lonely working all the time 3) I have no one out here to challenge me spiritually 4) It is difficult to leave so many friends on such short notice

Last night I decided that I needed rest. I spent the 45-minute car ride home in complete silence trying to listen to God. Working so hard makes anyone question, is it worth it? What do I really want out of life? What is this leading to? Etc. I used last week’s sermon on Sabbaths as an excuse to spent an hour in my parent’s hot tub looking out at the stars and an amazing view of the lake.

I realized that the reason I enjoy work when I know that I have given my full effort and I have seen tangible results. I realized that it didn’t matter as much what I was doing or where I was doing it, but more that I could pour myself into it. Unfortunately, I am at a stage in life where I am looking for answers and more freedom wasn’t the answer I was looking for. I wanted something more concrete: “Go do Law.”

I began to look at what was most important to me: Family, Friends, Church and realized that work really is not that important to me. The reason I put so much stress on it is because I feel like I can be doing something for God. I want to perform. As obvious as this is to everyone else, it became abundantly clear that he cares more about who I am. I reversed the question: “What job will help me be the person you want me to be? Why am I doing the job I’m doing?”

 

I realized that the reason I work so hard now is because I want to know my limits. I want to test myself. I don’t want to look back thirty years from now and wonder whether I could have done more. I hope that this testing process will bring out the qualities or characteristics that God deems most important. If not, I am sure that he will bring me to my knees and it will all be one large lesson in humility.

 

In the end, my original wish has not changed that drastically. I hope to continue to push myself forward, consistently out of my comfort zone, in hopes that I will consistently be dependent upon the strength of God. I must see this time of overwhelming work and responsibilities as an opportunity to be sustained past my own strength by His internal spring.

2 responses to “Self Reflection

  • Bobby

    No full-page post-response from me this time. Sounds like you’ve got things a bit more figured out. A few more hours in that hot tub at night should bring it on home. Keep thinking, keep praying, keep moving, and keep stopping every once in a while.

  • Charles

    A thoughtful post from a thoughtful person. Hey, we miss you in Chicago but its nice to hear from you via Via Chicago. Zach, you have a really good brain, and you’re good at thinking which is so apparent from your post. Your smarts are a gift from God that He will surely use for His glory. Brother, press on to take hold that for which Jesus took hold of you! I’m cheering your life on!

Leave a Reply

