Moment of peace

Many of you know that I have been in a period of life of intense work and little play. As my grandfather used to say “all work and no play make Jack a dull boy.” He also used to say “The more you do, the more you can do,” but I am choosing to ignore that phrase for now.  I type up the following entry only to put your fears to rest: Zach still knows how to have a good time.

After 5 hours of LSAT work following a very boring Lutheran church service, I put on my coat to go join my sister for some tasty Vietnamese food. Holy Crap! It had snowed 2 inches in the last hour. Maybe Al Gore was right about that Global Warming stuff? Unlike Chicago drivers, we in Seattle see a flake of snow, slam on our brakes while turning our steering wheels as hard as we can, turn on the hazard lights and then abandon our cars on the side of the freeway. Needless to say, dinner was canceled and I sat down for 2-3 more hours of enjoyable essays to edit. 2 hours in, I had had enough. Snow is supposed to be good, even holy. Think about it? It is white- the color of purity. It brings freedom to children- freedom from school. It falls from the sky- hello manna from heaven.  It turns to water when it melts- water=source of life. I would not let me vision of snow be tarnished

I put on my bathing suit and ran on tip toes to my parent’s jacuzzi. &#$%! The snow is cold. $#^&! The jacuzzi isn’t full. Run to the hose. $*&#! The hose isn’t attached. 30 minutes later…Ahh. Warm, spiritual bliss.  For those of you who have never tried it, swimming in the rain is one of the greatest things in the world. Jacuzzi in the snow, ten times better. Later, to make things even better, my dog comes out to play fetch. I have been turning him down for weeks cause it was way too cold. All at once, I was taking a break from work, giving my dog exercise, contemplating the mysteries of life, working the kink out of my lower back, and planning the next day’s post for my on-line blog. How’s that for multi-tasking!

Your homework: get a dog, a jacuzzi and move to a place with snow.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

