Musical Edification

bobby posting:

Just dropping a line today to give you a couple of music blogs that I check on regularly.  I usually get to checking these somewhere in the first half of my morning and then listen to the music I find throughout the rest of my day.  Every now and then, a real gem comes across that completely rocks my world (Joe Purdy was the most recent).  So, to keep things brief…here’s three straight-up music blogs, and then one site that just may take away all the free time you thought you ever had.

1 / Muzzle of Bees – Because the name of this blog has the city “Chicago” in it, I found it fitting to including a music blog straight from the Midwest (Milwaukee to be exact).  These guys not only put up great bands and songs, but also keep a running tab of great shows happening in the Milwaukee/Chicago area.

2 / Slowcoustic – The name says it all on this one.  This is rainy day paradise right here.  Usually equal parts melancholy and beautiful, the music here is nearly always great.  Right up my alley.  I’ve definitely discovered a few brilliant singer-songwriters and bands here that I never would have heard anywhere else.

3 / Captain Obvious – This one has proven to me to be the most reliable of the sort.  Usually if CO likes it, I’m probably in.  I trust their judgment a good 3/4ths of the time.  In fact, their most recent post with Bon Iver leads me to the last site.

4 / La Blogotheque – Yes, it’s French.  And yes, it’s amazing.  They specialize in what they call Take Away shows.  Here’s what it’s all about:

Every week, we invite an artist or a band to play in the streets, in a bar, a park, or even in a flat or in an elevator, and we film the whole session. Of course, what makes the beauty of it is all the little incidents, hesitations, and crazy stuff happening unexpectingly. Besides, we do not edit the videos so they look perfectly flawless, instead we keep the raw sound of the surroundings. Our goal is to try and capture instants, film the music just like it happens, without preparation, without tricks. Spontaneity is the keyword.

Somehow, I’ve never been disappointed by one of these.  From Bon Iver singing a cappella in an old hallway to Sigur Ros playing one of their most epic tunes in an unassuming Parisian restaurant to Jason Mraz getting into an impromptu jam session with an elderly woman street performer, it’s almost always perfect. Other favorite Take Away Shows:  The National, Fleet Foxes, Vampire Weekend, Grizzly Bear, and maybe my favorite, Seasick Steve

Enjoy.

2 responses to “Musical Edification

Leave a Reply

