Today’s Sign of the Apocalypse

[quick note: see Zach’s post below this one.  great stuff.  don’t want you to miss it.]

bobby posting:

I love movies.  A lot of people know I love movies.  So when those people see a movie they love, they’re quick to pass it my way.  I saw both of the movies below recently.  One of them is a dude movie.  Action.  Violence.  Cars.  Testosterone manifested in movie form.  Let’s just say it’s not going to win any awards.  The other movie, though, is quite easily going to be pick up several shiny, golden statues.  In fact, it’s more of a film than a movie.  Know what I mean?

While both served their own purposes, my purpose here is to point out something I found a bit ridiculous.  The first movie below was Rated PG-13.  How?  I have no idea.  Again…action, violence, cars.  Okay…cars are fine, but you get the point.  Anyway, even crazier, the other “film” below was Rated R.  Profane language abounds at times…but if ever there were a purpose and reason for it, this movie personifies it.

I understand the “R” rating if both are get that slap on the wrist.  No qualms here.  But for one to glorify a certain way of life that is less than ideal and still receive a lenient rating?  Now you ruffled my feathers.  What are we making more accessible to viewers and why?  Wouldn’t you want your 13-year-old to be more exposed to one of these stories than the other?  Just saying.  See for yourself, then say for yourself.

Leave a Reply

