Have You Seen…

bobby posting:

I’m trying something new out for Friday’s.  I know no one’s brain is still fully functioning by the end of the week, so I’m hoping to put up short and sweet movie, TV, music, book, and anything-else-I-can-think-of recommendations.  Here’s the first installment.

Have You Seen…?

There are movies that create momentous experiences just to watch them.  The event itself becomes nearly as epic as the film.  I’m not just throwing in Lord of the Rings on a whim.  I need to check my calendar and make sure I have nothing that could potentially distract me for like six hours.  Right?

Then there are movies you can put on at any time and make it all the way thru.  These are the kind of movies you’d watch over and over if you were home sick with the flu.   Movies you know.  But even more, movies you simply enjoy. Like Top Gun. Right?  Wrong?  Dang.

Spanglish certainly falls into the latter.  It is, without a doubt, on my Top Ten all-time list.  Crazy to hear, I know.  But I’m not nuts.  Trust me.  And because I hate it when people give away too much of the actual plot (I have a real love/hate relationship with movie trailers.  Another post for another day), I won’t give you any of the real details here.  Instead, I’ll just tell you some reasons why I really like the movie.

It has real, genuinely funny laughs that don’t involve anyone exposing their naked selves.  Rare these days.  Even crazier, Adam Sandler pretty much plays it straight throughout the entire movie.  No crazy, weird voices and random bathroom humor.  This is the Sandler I always hoped for.  Drama and romance?  Check and check.  Deep family issues and cross-cultural conundrums, it’s all there.  Spanglish really is a perfect, sweet little movie that has just enough of everything.

Because I wouldn’t lead you astray, rent it soon (or ask to borrow it from the Harrisonian library) and see for yourself.  You won’t be disappointed.  Unless you don’t have a heart.  Or like to laugh.  Or like good movies.

Seen it?  Wanna see it now?  Still not sold?  Let me know what you think.

Enjoy the weekend.

3 responses to “Have You Seen…

Leave a Reply

