Donald Miller. Creators. Systematic Theology. You. and Me.

I wrapped up yesterday’s post with this little nugget:

Are you losing yourself in something else?

Are you dying to self over the absolute love of something you’re creating?

You were made to.

Did you know that?  Do you believe that?  Are you going to do anything about that?

– –

Donald Miller has spent the past couple of weeks on his blog writing about “creators”.  According to his most recent writing, a creator:

– Gets rid of “takers” in their lives

– Knows their likes and dislikes

– Is ready when luck strikes

– Does not entertain hypotheticals

– Finds a rhythm and loves the rhythm

– Doesn’t just talk about their work, they work

– Realizes there’s no benefit to romantic preoccupations

and

– Must believe he has the authority to create

More than any of the other points that he nailed down about creators and the art of creating, that last one had me thinking the most.  I read it sometime last week, stewed on it for a while, but then managed to stuff it in the back of my mind.  That was until I came across something else yesterday.  My brain fired back on, alerting me with that same annoying chirp that lets me know I forgot to take something out of the microwave.  Let’s look at it together.

– –

I’ve been reading through some pretty heady systematic theology recently as a part of my own miniature seminary training with my friend and mentor Taido.  In his chapter on “Creation”, Bible scholar Wayne Grudem writes:

God desired to create the universe to demonstrate his excellence.  The creation shows his great wisdom and power, and ultimately it shows all of his other attributes as well.  It seems that God created the universe, then, to take delight in his creation, for as creation shows forth various aspects of God’s character, to that extent he does take delight in it.

There are so many great things I’d love to unpack there and really appreciate with you.  But it’s what came in the very next few sentences that really grabbed my attention:

This explains why we take spontaneous delight in all sorts of creative activities ourselves.  People with artistic, musical, or literary skills enjoy creating things and seeing, hearing, or pondering their creative work.  God has so made us that we enjoy imitating, in a creaturely way, his creative activity.  And one of the amazing aspects of humanity — in distinction from the rest of creation — is our ability to create new things.

God has so made us that we enjoy imitating, in a creaturely way, his creative activity.

What an empowering, motivating, eye-opening thought.  For me at least.  God made us to create.  And not just because we have opposable thumbs.  There is something hardwired in us, technically and tenderly crafted when the Creator first sat down to create us.  And yes.  I imagine him sitting there.  Minus the Ikea instructions, of course.

Nuts and bolts.  Lips pursed.  Eyes narrowed.  Hands readying.  Ready to create.

We have blood pouring through us that wants to be circulated for a good cause.  We are not sedentary.  We are not numb.  We are creators at heart.  It’s time to get your heart going again.

Donald Miller says so.  Systematic Theology says so.  I say so.  What do you say?

2 responses to “Donald Miller. Creators. Systematic Theology. You. and Me.

  • Have You Seen “Shake Me Down” by Cage the Elephant « via chicago

    […] gum/ankle socks recommendations for you here on the blog on Fridays.  Well…yesterday deserved a more legit post filled with actual writing (think we’ll even continue the idea along after the weekend).  In […]

  • Charles

    ‎As an aside, Wayne Grudem use to hang out at the Evanston Vineyard Church (my current church here in Evanston) once in a while years ago. Speaking of theologians, my favorite theologian currently is Jürgen Moltmann. He writes: “We can therefore imagine eternal life as an inexhaustibly creative livingness.” Sounds like fun doesn’t it? Certainly something to look forward to. We might as well start this “creative livingness” here on this side of heaven even as you are encouraging Bobby in your post. No wonder super heroes are all the rage at the cinema as our future is “inexhaustibly creative livingness.” I have been meditating (though slightly out of context) on Hebrews 6:5, which says we “have tasted [already] . . . the powers of the coming age.” Our eternal future is “inexhaustibly creative livingness” and we get to taste it now – in your words by “imitating, in a creaturely way, his creative activity.” This certainly involves art, but more than art, in involves imitating God in his power: “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing” (John 14:12). For years I’ve struggled with the fact that God loves me. I never understood why, and I still don’t. Someone gave the best reason I’ve heard recently: He loves us because we are “chips off the old block.” So as chips off the old block, he takes delight in his creation, so let’s be (in your words again Bobby), “creators at heart” just like Father is. I imagine the great thing about Abe is he is a chip off the old block – quite a chip I’m sure, and quite a block I know – not sedentary, not numb, but a creator at heart.

Leave a Reply

